California State Association of Counties®



OFFICERS

President Lisa A. Bartlett Orange County

1st Vice President James Gore Sonoma County

2nd Vice President Ed Valenzuela Siskiyou County

Past President Virginia Bass Humboldt County

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Graham Knaus

SUBJECT:	Nomination and Selection of CSAC Board of Directors Members
FROM:	Graham Knaus, Executive Director
TO:	Chairs, Boards of Supervisors
September	15, 2020

Under provisions of the CSAC Constitution, members of the Board of Directors and alternates are nominated by their respective boards of supervisors and appointed by the Executive Committee to a one-year term commencing with the first day of the CSAC Annual Conference. The 2020 CSAC conference will begin on Thursday, November 12, 2020. Any member of your Board of Supervisors is eligible for the directorship.

Each year, the new CSAC Board of Directors holds its first official meeting at the Association's annual conference. **Thus, it is important that your county appoints a representative to participate at the first meeting on <u>Thursday, November 19, 2020</u>.** Enclosed is a list of current Board of Directors, along with a form for your county to notify us of your Board's nomination.

Please note that if we do not receive your 2020-2021 nomination, your current Board representative will continue to serve on our Board of Directors. It is important to note that counties have the ability to change Board representatives and/or alternates at any point throughout the year subject to final appointment by the CSAC Executive Committee.

The new Board of Directors will meet during the annual conference, first by caucus (urban, suburban, and rural) to nominate CSAC Officers and Executive Committee members, and again as a full Board to elect the 2020-2021 Executive Committee and to conduct other Association business. <u>Please note that under the CSAC Constitution, Executive Committee members are elected from the membership of the Board of Directors.</u>

If you have any questions or need further information, please contact Korina Jones at (916) 327-7500 x 508 or by email at <u>kjones@counties.org</u>.

Enclosures

cc: 2020 Board of Directors Clerks, Board of Supervisors