# Humboldt County Cannabis Micro-Grant & Loan Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes, March 10<sup>th</sup>, 2020 Prosperity Center, 520 E Street, Eureka

Project Trellis was established to bolster the cannabis industry, protect future cannabis excise tax revenues by providing services to populations and communities in Humboldt who were adversely affected by the criminalization of cannabis, develop a framework for supportive programs designed to sustain and grow Humboldt's cannabis industry, and to assist cannabis businesses as they work to overcome the financial and logistical challenges of coming into compliance.

**MEMBERS PRESENT:** Thomas Mulder, Jim Groeling, Sarah Balster, Rich Ames, Hannah Joy, Brian St. Clair, Thomas Handwerker

MEMBERS ABSENT: N/A

**OTHERS PRESENT:** Catherine Carter, Scott Adair, Cara Owings, Ryan Heitz, See list of presenters below – Item 5

## 1. Opening

Chair, Rich Ames, called the meeting to order at 12:01 pm. A quorum was present.

## 2. Public Comment on Non-Agenda Items

None.

## 3. Approval of February 25th, 2020 Meeting Minutes

It was moved by Richard Marks and seconded by Hannah Joy to approve the minutes from February 25<sup>th</sup>, 2020. Chair called for public comment – none received. Motion failed – no quorum. Ayes – Richard Marks and Hannah Joy. Nays – Rich Ames, Jim Groeling, and Sarah Balster.

It was moved by Sarah Balster and seconded by Rich Ames to strike the first sentence of item 4 stating "Sarah Balster noted that Supervisor Steve Madrone had directed her to prioritize and advocate to fund grant applications from already formed road associations". Chair called for public comment – none received. Motion failed – no quorum. Ayes – Rich Ames, Jim Groeling, and Sarah Balster. Nays – Richard Marks and Hannah Joy.

It was moved by Sarah Balster and seconded by Rich Ames to wait until the final committee member, Thomas Mulder, arrived to revote on the minutes. Chair called for public comment – none received. Motion carried. Ayes – Sarah Balster, Rich Ames, Hannah Joy, Jim Groeling. Nays – Richard Marks.

It was moved by Thomas Mulder and seconded by Richard Marks to approve the minutes, as is, with no modifications. Chair called for public comment – none received. Motion carried. Ayes – Brian St. Clair\*, Richard Marks, Hannah Joy, and Thomas Mulder. Nays – Jim Groeling, Rich Ames, and Sarah Balster.

\* The committee was unable to reach a quorum, so they were advised by staff to have an alternate vote. A coin was flipped to choose the alternate, Brian St. Clair, and he was the deciding vote in the meeting minute approval.

## 4. Staff Updates

Scott Adair informed the committee that their application scores are due March 13<sup>th</sup>, 2020, by the end of the day.

## 5. Oral Presentations from Trellis Micro-Grant Applicants

a. Presentations were given on a "first come, first serve" basis. Presenters/applicants were given a number to indicate when they would present. The presentations were five minutes total, three minutes for presentations and two minutes for Q & A.

Presenters addressed the committee in the following order:

- 1. Tyler Safier from Mattole Uplift Cooperative
- 2. Wendy Pickett from Willow in the Wood
- 3. David Dickenson from Woody Ridge
- 4. Michelle Kiley from Supply Creek Watershed (SPC)
- 5. Ryan Zuccaro from Fresh off the Hill
- 6. John Keenan from Humboldt John
- 7. Neva Peterson from Kush Creek Organics
- 8. Polly Kinsinger from Thompson Creek Crossing
- 9. Jery Fergus from Salmon Creek Farms
- Thomas Edvington from Humboldt County Cannabis Chamber of Commerce (HCCCC)
- 11. Thomas Edvington from Humboldt County Cannabis Chamber of Commerce (HCCCC) Thomas applied for two presentation spots, but only had one application. He was told by the committee he could only give one presentation.
- 12. Karyn Wagner from Women Kind Paradiam Cannabis
- 13. April Newlander from Pure Nature
- 14. Wendy Kornberg from Fences for Flowers Sunnabis
- 15. Shannon Cassandra Taliafero from Seely Creek Road Association
- 16. Nick Ageloff from Spruce Grove Farms
- 17. Wendy Baker from Space Gem
- 18. Dylan Mattole from Mattole Grange
- 19. Slawyer Bogle from Mr. Beans Veganix
- 20. Erez Gudes from Redwood Terrace Farms This person was not present when their number was called, so they did not present.
- 21. Roger Harrell from Redwood Roots Distribution
- 22. Jennifer Mahone from Witch Doctor Extracts HMY Botanicals
- 23. Michael Stallings from Sticky Monkey Farms
- 24. Adelain Evans from DewPoint
- 25. Craig Nejedy from Talking Trees (TTF)

- 26. Jamilla Hashem from Kiskanu
- 27. Aaron Sweat from Pacific Coast Concentrates (PCC)
- 28. Criag and Melanie Johnson from Alpenglow
- 29. Spruce Grove Farms
- 30. Siobhan Darwish from Grown Sisters
- 31. Kerry Reynolds from SHORE
- 32. Craig Nejedy from HGD
- 33. Craig Nejedy from Satori Craig spoke three times, once for each of his applications.
- 34. Riley Morrison and Lindsey Jones from Willow Creek Cannabis Alliance
- 35. Meghan Aiyana Gregory from Humboldt Synchronicitrees
- 36. Ali Rivas and Holly Carter from Oxalis Integrative Support Services LLC
- 37. Jill McClure from Hogwash
- 38. Mika Cook from Goddess Organics
- 39. Pam Lane and Sean Stamm from Royal Compound
- 40. Pam Lane and Sean Stamm from SoHum Royal Pam and Sean spoke twice, once for each of their applications.
- 41. Lynda Cesaretti from ABC Farms
- 42. Sean Trainer from Green Leaf and SVF
- 43. Dave Sandomeno from Sunrise Mountain Farms
- 44. Joel McClure Bridges Academy Farms
- 45. Rosie Reynolds from Eel River Produce
- 46. Sequoya Hudson from CannAssert

## b. Public Comment

Public comments were made by Sawyer Bogle, Sequoya Hudson, Holly Carter, and Lindsey Jones. They expressed their appreciation for Project Trellis and the need for programs like this in the cannabis industry.

Lindsey also mentioned there is still space left in the History of Cannabis class offered through College of the Redwoods.

## c. Meeting Extension

It was moved by Thomas Mulder and seconded by Rich Ames to extend the meeting time past 3 p.m. Chair called for public comment – none received. Motion carried Unanimously.

## 6. Adjourn

Chair, Rich Ames, adjourned the meeting at 4:27 p.m.

Next Meeting: March 10th, 2020 – 12:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.