

COUNTY OF HUMBOLDT



For the meeting of: October 11, 2016

Date: September 15, 2016

To: Board of Supervisors

From: Clerk of the Board 4°

Subject: Appointment of 2016-2017 Member and Alternate to the California State Association of Counties (CSAC) Board of Directors.

<u>RECOMMENDATION(S)</u>: That the Board of Supervisors appoint a Member and Alternate to the California State Association of Counties Board of Directors, and direct the Clerk of the Board to notify Sue Ronkowski at CSAC, 1100 K Street, Suite #101, Sacramento, CA 95814, of the appointments.

SOURCE OF FUNDING: N/A

<u>DISCUSSION</u>: Members and Alternates to the Board of Directors of the California State Association of Counties (CSAC) are appointed by their respective Boards of Supervisors to one-year terms, commencing with the first day of the CSAC Annual Conference. This year's conference will be November 29^{th} – December 2^{nd} , 2016.

CSAC's Board of Directors holds its first meeting of each year at the association's annual conference, and it is important that each member county have its newly appointed board representatives at this first meeting.

FINANCIAL IMPACT: N/A

OTHER AGENCY INVOLVEMENT: California State Association of Counties.

ALTERNATIVES TO STAFF RECOMMENDATIONS: Board discretion.

<u>ATTACHMENTS</u>: CSAC Selection of CSAC Board of Directors Members Memorandum, Nomination Form, and CSAC Member Counties List.

Prepared by Kathy Haves	Signature Cushig Hes
REVIEW: Auditor County Counsel Personnel	Risk Manager Other
TYPE OF ITEM: Consent Departmental	BOARD OF SUPERVISORS, COUNTY OF HUMBOLDT Upon motion of Superviso Seconded by Supervisor
Public Hearing Other	Ayes Nays Abstain
PREVIOUS ACTION/REFERRAL:	Absent
Board Order No	and carried by those members present, the Board hereby approves the recommended action contained in this Board report.
Meeting of:	
	Dated: By:
	Kathy Hayes, Clerk of the Board



California State Association of Counties ® 1100 K Street, Suite 101 Sacramento, CA 95814 Phone (916) 327- 7500 Facsimile (916) 321- 5047

September 15, 2016

TO: Chairs, Boards of Supervisors

FROM: Matt Cate, Executive Director

SUBJECT: Selection of CSAC Board of Directors Members

Under provisions of the CSAC Constitution, members of the Board of Directors and alternates are nominated by their respective boards of supervisors and appointed by the Executive Committee to one-year terms of office commencing with the first day of the CSAC annual conference. This year that will be on November 29, 2016. Any member of your Board of Supervisors is eligible for the directorship.

CSAC's Board of Directors holds its first meeting of each year at the association's annual conference. Thus, it is important that your county has its newly appointed board representative at this first meeting. Enclosed is a list of current directors, along with a form for use in notifying us of your Board's nomination.

The new Board of Directors will meet at the annual conference, first by caucus (urban, suburban and rural) to nominate CSAC officers and Executive Committee members, and again as a full Board to elect the 2017 Executive Committee and to conduct other business. Details of these meetings will be sent to you at a later date. <u>Please note that under the CSAC Constitution, Executive Committee members are elected from the membership of the Board of Directors.</u>

If you have any questions or need further information, please contact Sue Ronkowski of my staff at 916.327.7500 x508 or e-mail sronkowski@counties.org.

Enclosures

cc: 2016 Board of Directors Clerks, Board of Supervisors



California State Association of Counties 1100 K Street, Suite 101 Sacramento, CA 95814 Phone (916) 327- 7500 Facsimile (916) 321- 5047

NOMINATION OF CSAC BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEMBER FOR YEAR 2016 – 2017

The Board of Supervisors nominates the following named Supervisor(s) to a position on the CSAC Board of Directors for the 2016 - 2017 Association year beginning November 29, 2016.

County name:

Director:

Alternate:

Name of individual completing form:

Does the Board of Directors member plan to attend the CSAC Annual Conference (Nov. 29 – Dec. 1, 2016) in Palm Springs, Riverside County?

Yes: No:

PLEASE RETURN BY NOVEMBER 16, 2016 TO:

Sue Ronkowski California State Association of Counties 1100 K Street, Suite 101 Sacramento, CA 95814 E-mail: <u>sronkowski@counties.org</u> Fax: (916) 321-5047

CALIFORNIA STATE ASSOCIATION OF COUNTIES

Board of Directors

2016

Section	County	Director	
U	Alameda County	Keith Carson	
R	Alpine County	Terry Woodrow	
R	Amador County	Louis Boitano	
S	Butte County	Bill Connelly	
R	Calaveras County	Michael Oliveira	
R	Colusa County	Kim Dolbow Vann	
U	Contra Costa County	John Gioia	
R	Del Norte County	David Finigan	
R	El Dorado County	Ron Mikulaco	
U	Fresno County	Henry Perea	
R	Glenn County	John Viegas	
R	Humboldt County	Virginia Bass	
S	Imperial County	Raymond Castillo	
R	Inyo County	Jeff Griffiths	
S	Kern County	Leticia Perez	
R	Kings County	Doug Verboon	
R	Lake County	Anthony Farrington	
R	Lassen County	Jim Chapman	
U	Los Angeles County	Don Knabe	
R	Madera County	David Rogers	
S	Marin County	Damon Connolly	
R	Mariposa County	John Carrier	
R	Mendocino County	Carre Brown	
S	Merced County	Hubert "Hub" Walsh	
R	Modoc County	Jim Wills	
R	Mono County	Larry Johnston	
S	Monterey County	Fernando Armenta	
S	Napa County	Diane Dillon	
R	Nevada County	Ed Scofield	
U	Orange County	Lisa Bartlett	
S	Placer County	Jim Holmes	
R	Plumas County	Lori Simpson	
U	Riverside County	John Benoit	

U	Sacramento County	Susan Peters	
R	San Benito County	Jaime De La Cruz	
U	San Bernardino County	James Ramos	
U	San Diego County	Greg Cox	
U	San Francisco City & County	vacant	
S	San Joaquin County	Bob Elliott	
S	San Luis Obispo County	Bruce Gibson	
U	San Mateo County	Carole Groom	
S	Santa Barbara County	Doreen Farr	
U	Santa Clara County	Ken Yeager	
S	Santa Cruz County	Bruce McPherson	
S	Shasta County	Leonard Moty	
R	Sierra County	Lee Adams	
R	Siskiyou County	Ed Valenzuela	
S	Solano County	Linda Seifert	
S	Sonoma County	Efren Carrillo	
S	Stanislaus County	Vito Chiesa	
R	Sutter County	Larry Munger	
R	Tehama County	Robert Williams	
R	Trinity County	Judy Morris	
S	Tulare County	Steve Worthley	
R	Tuolumne County	Sherri Brennan	
U	Ventura County	Kathy Long	
S	Yolo County	Jim Provenza	
R	Yuba County	Roger Abe	

President:		Richard Forste	er, Amador	
First Vice Pr	esident:	Dave Roberts,	San Diego	
Second Vice	President:	Leticia Perez,	Kern	
Immed. Past	President:	Vito Chiesa, St	tanislaus	
SECTION:	U=Urban	S=Suburban	R=Rural	

1/16