

COUNTY OF

For the meeting of: 6/24/202

File #: 25-784

To: Board of Supervisors

From: Clerk of the Board

Agenda Section: Consent

Vote Requirement: Majority

SUBJECT:

Reappointments to the Humboldt County Workforce Development Board

RECOMMENDATION(S):

That the Board of Supervisors:

- 1. Ratify the Humboldt County Workforce Development Board re-appointments of Swan Asbury, Rosemary Den Ouden, James Forbes, Gary Huddle and John McEntagart to the Humboldt County Workforce Development Board for a term of two years effective immediately, in accordance with the Humboldt County Workforce Development Board Bylaws (Attachment 1); and
- 2. Ratify the nominations to the Humboldt County Workforce Development Board Executive Committee of Chair, Dennis Leonardi; Vice Chair Shelley Nilsen; At Large General Seats to Lee Cunningham and Madison Flynn; At Large Higher Education Seat, Cindy Burngarner; At large Business Seat, Daniel Dixon; At Large Labor Seat, John McEntagart; and At large General Seat (Chair Appointed), Kerry Venegas; and
- 3. Ratify the resignation, from the Humboldt County Workforce Development Board of Emilia Bartolomeu, Eddie Blakeslee, Megan Bonham, Tim Hooven and Mark Plubell; and
- 4. Appoint Claudia Obera De Luna to the Humboldt County Workforce Development Board.

STRATEGIC PLAN:

This action supports the following areas of your Board's Strategic Plan.

Area of Focus: Workforce & Operational Excellence Strategic Plan Category: 3001 - Support a well-trained

DISCUSSION:

The purpose of the Humboldt County Workforce Development Board is to bring together resources to meet employer and employee needs and advance the prosperity of local communities. This Board is appointed by the Board of Supervisors and is mandated by the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) to oversee workforce system operations and related funding in Humboldt County.

WIOA requires that certain public agencies and labor organizations appoint members to the Humboldt County Workforce Development Board. WIOA also mandates that at least 51% of the Board's membership come from the private sector and that the Chair be a representative of the business community.

The Humboldt County Workforce Development Board received and approved the attached reappointments, nominations, resignations and appointment for Fiscal Year 25-26 at its May 16, 2025 meeting.

The Humboldt County Workforce Development Board new reappointments are as follows:

Swan Asbury represents Economic and Community Development

File #: 25-784

- Rosemary Den Ouden represents Diversified Healthcare
- James Forbes represents Vocational Rehabilitation
- Gary Huddle represents Building and Systems Constriction
- John McEntagart represents Labor Union

The Humboldt County Workforce Development Board Executive Committee nominated:

- Chair, Dennis Leonardi
- Vice Chair, Shelley Nilsen
- At Large General Seats, Lee Cunningham and Madison Flynn
- At Large Higher Education Seat, Cindy Burngarner
- At large Business Seat, Daniel Dixon
- At Large Labor Seat, John McEntagart
- At large General Seat (Chair Appointed), Kerry Venegas

The Humboldt County Workforce Development Board resignations are as follows:

- Emilia Bartolomeu represented Wagner-Peyser Act
- Eddie Blakeslee represented Specialty Food, Flowers, and Beverage
- Megan Bonham represented Diversified Healthcare
- Tim Hooven represented Building and Systems Construction
- Mark Plubell represented Labor Union

The Humboldt County Workforce Development Board's appointment of a new member is:

Claudia Obera De Luna represents the Employment Development Department

The proposed nominations, reappointments, resignations and new appointment are consistent with the Humboldt County Workforce Development Board Bylaws.

SOURCE OF FUNDING:

Economic Development (1120) Workforce (287)

FINANCIAL IMPACT:

There is no financial impact to this agenda item.

STAFFING IMPACT:

There is no impact to staff.

OTHER AGENCY INVOLVEMENT:

None

ALTERNATIVES TO STAFF RECOMMENDATIONS:

Board discretion

ATTACHMENTS:

2025-2026 Reappointments and Resignations 2025-2026 Executive Committee Nominations Application for Appointment for Claudia Obera De Luna

PREVIOUS ACTION/REFERRAL:

Meeting of: N/A File No.: N/A