#### PLANNING COMMISSION

IVER SKAVDAL Chair, First District THOMAS MULDER Second District NOAH LEVY Third District JEROME QIRIAZI Fourth District PEGGY O'NEILL Fifth District SARAH WEST Vice-Chair, At-Large LORNA MCFARLANE At-Large



COUNTY STAFF

JOHN H. FORD Director, Planning and Building

# PLANNING COMMISSION COUNTY OF HUMBOLDT

825 Fifth Street Board of Supervisors Chambers Eureka, California

# **ACTION SUMMARY**

Thursday, May 1, 2025

6:00 PM

**Regular Meeting - Hybrid** 

# A. CALL TO ORDER / SALUTE TO FLAG

Chair Iver Skavdal called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

# **B. COMMISSIONERS PRESENT**

Commissioner Thomas Mulder arrived late.

Present : 6 - Commissioner Iver Skavdal, Commissioner Noah Levy, Commissioner Thomas Mulder, Commissioner Peggy O'Neill, Commissioner Sarah West and Commissioner Jerome Qiriazi

Absent : 1 - Commissioner Lorna McFarlane

#### C. AGENDA MODIFICATIONS

Public Comment received for Item F-1 Vehicle Miles Traveled Policy Threshold and Screening Criteria

# D. PUBLIC COMMENT ON NON-AGENDA ITEMS:

# E. CONSENT AGENDA

# F. OLD BUSINESS

# <u>25-585</u>

1. Adopt a Vehicle Miles Traveled Policy by Resolution for CEQA Threshold and Screening Criteria

Assessor Parcel Numbers (APN) 000-000-000 Record No.: LRP-2023-18792 Unincorporated Humboldt County.

Recommend that the Board of Supervisors adopt by resolution a policy establishing a Humboldt County Vehicle Miles Traveled (VMT) CEQA threshold of significance and screening criteria for new development projects, to comply with California Senate Bill 743.

A motion by Commissioner Sarah West, seconded by Commissioner Peggy O'Neill to adopt resolution 25-025 proposing Vehicle Miles Traveled Threshold Policy Guidelines as presented with the changes made by the commissioners including inserting reference to the CAPCOA Handbook with the caveat that the Commission was deadlocked on what the baseline VMT should be and recommend the VMT Threshold Policy Guidelines be referred to the Board of Supervisors.

- Aye:
   5 Commissioner Iver Skavdal, Commissioner Noah Levy, Commissioner Peggy O'Neill,

   Commissioner Sarah West and Commissioner Jerome Qiriazi
- Nay: 1 Commissioner Thomas Mulder
- Absent: 1 Commissioner Lorna McFarlane

#### G. ITEMS PULLED FROM CONSENT

# H. REPORT FROM PLANNER

#### I. PLANNING COMMISSION DISCUSSION ITEMS

A special meeting of the Planning Commission has been scheduled for June 26, 2025

# J. ADJOURNMENT

# K. NEXT MEETINGS: May 15, 2025 6:00 p.m. Regular Meeting - Hybrid